Posted in progress

The Chapter Moved Forward

 

(This picture sums up exactly what my thoughts have concluded tonight)

It’s been a challenge of a couple of days with thinking about the right direction for this chapter.  I can see it all in my head but expressing it from head to hands is like walking with a toddler. You know you can walk fast, the toddler thinks he can walk fast but when together, you, the parent, has to slow down and let the toddler learn how to catch up.  That’s how the writing feels currently.  Maybe it’s just the screenwriter in me just wanting to get the story down, maybe I’m just impatient, don’t get me wrong I am enjoying writing but it does get a bit frustrating from time to time.

264 is tonight’s word count but I finally came back to the present day in my story which I have been very keen on doing for a few days now.  A royal figure dipped into an old memory of his brother and that’s where I had been for a few days, tonight though he popped back into the present day – phew, thought he’d never get there!

Hope you enjoyed the read tonight.

 

Posted in project

Some News

Today it dawned on me that the novel I’m writing is going to take a long long time to finish, we’re talking at least another 12 months and with the downside to this being no sense of real accomplishment in the meanwhile I have decided to work on a small project. When I look at the current word count (9000) I am happy but it’s hard to keep the momentum going every day, especially when this is new and there’s the potential to throw the towel in and be done with it altogether.

I will still continue with the novel, with an aim to send to publishers, but I’d also like to try self publishing some short stories for children. On the days when the novel and its world just doesn’t want to escape my brain and be released on paper I’ll switch to the short stories.

There are no deadlines for either projects but to keep the motivation there I think this is the best option.  There are some ideas I’d like to play around with, let’s see where they get me.

Has anyone else gone through the same experience?

Happy writing bloggers!